Published: Thu, March 14, 2019
Sports | By Juana Wells

How to Pick a victor at The Players Championship

How to Pick a victor at The Players Championship

Molinari, the reigning British Open champion, will enter the Players Championship 2019 full of confidence, and his strong iron play and prolific ball-striking ability suit TPC Sawgrass extremely well.

The tournament had a March date until 2007 when it was moved to May.

However, his last outing at The Honda Classic - a tournament that he has performed strongly in over the years - resulted in a MC, yet this could have given him the extra preparation time required for this week.

Woods will try to do exactly that and join Jack Nicklaus as the only three-time winners of The Players. He has played the event in both its March and May slots, so he has that experience as well.

"That's the same with social media; that person who took a photo of me. was kind of creepy". You need to have played well.

He's recorded 10 three-putts in his last two tournaments, an unusually high number for a player known for a little magic with his flat stick.

We're treated to a wider array of prop bets including one of my favorites, the missed cut.

Mickelson, who missed the cut during last week's Arnold Palmer, added, 'If I remember correctly, the week before I won at Pebble I missed the cut. He's finished inside the top 20 in each of his previous starts despite a troublesome putter.

Given that experience is key, it's not surprising that young players haven't fared particularly well at Sawgrass.

"When you're walking down 16 and you look over to your right and you see the green and nothing else but water you start thinking about it early".

The 14-time major victor said his neck problem had first flared at the Genesis Open in Los Angeles last month before worsening during the WGC-Mexico in Mexico City, where he tied for 10th. That makes him one of the few players who can point to at least a modicum of consistency at this event.

Three players fit all that criteria this week. We have Rory McIlroy, Dustin Johnson and Rickie Fowler cruising as we enter the biggest event of the far.

Watch the Players Championship throughout the week live on Sky Sports.

Webb Simpson won The Players past year and will be joined in the field by an impressive list of former champions that includes Woods, Mickelson, Jason Day (2016) of Australia, Rickie Fowler (2015), Martin Kaymer (2014), Matt Kuchar (2012), Henrik Stenson (2009) of Sweden, Sergio Garcia (2008) of Spain, Si Woo Kim (2017) of South Korea and Adam Scott (2004) of Australia. Find as much actionable information as possible and fire some cash on the best values that Vegas gives them.

The 35-year-old Australian has never won a majo, and has made nine starts at Sawgrass, finishing eighth in 2013.

Once again, the Northern Irishman was in the final pairing at last week's Arnold Palmer Invitational.

Billy Horschel, meanwhile, is a great outside bet at 80/1. Combining that with the design of the course that limits the use of a driver, TPC Sawgrass is going to play a lot longer than in past years.

Like this: