Published: Thu, October 18, 2018
Sports | By Juana Wells

'Bulls--t': Kate Upton rips Major League Baseball over Astros' homer controversy

'Bulls--t': Kate Upton rips Major League Baseball over Astros' homer controversy

The call stood after a replay review that lasted more than three minutes. "Jose paid the ultimate price for something out of his control". With a man on base, Jose Altuve sent a ball to deep right field in the first inning.

The call costed the Astros a couple of runs and could loom extremely large in what is an extremely pivotal Game 4.

The Red Sox are leading the Astros, 2-1, in tonight's game. The umpire's would go to review and they came back with fan interference and Altuve was out. As he tried to make the catch, Betts' glove closed a split-second too early, possibly closed as it made contact on its backside with one of the fans' hands.

The angle of the video replays made it hard to determine whether Betts crossed the "plane" of the outfield wall while reaching up to make the catch. In replays, a fan did indeed reach for the ball, but it appeared that it was over the fence and into the stands.

A fan who identified himself as Troy Caldwell, insisted he wasn't reaching out over the fence when the ball hit his hand. He does so at his own risk. But Jackie Bradley Jr. homered for the second night in a row for the Boston Red Sox in an 8-6 victory Wednesday, putting them up 3-1 in the best-of-seven series. The ball then glanced off the side of Betts' glove and touched fans trying to get it.

Instead of a homer, Altuve was ruled out, and the fans at Minute Maid Park made their disapproval of the call known with a hefty amount of boos.

However, the game didn't just hinge on that call. I'm 100 percent positive I was going to be able to catch that one.

"There was a lot of game left", he said. No, I'm not going to go there. "That's not how the game plays".

The applicable Major League Baseball rule, labeled 3.16 in the official manual, states, "When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference".

"It doesn't matter what I think".

Asked about his thoughts on West making the ruling that took away the two-run dinger that would have tied the game, Caldwell was pretty clear.

Like this: