Published: Thu, June 21, 2018
Sports | By Juana Wells

Phil: 'I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions'

Phil: 'I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions'

It was reminiscent of John Daly hitting a moving ball at Pinehurst No. 2 in the 1999 U.S. Open.

"I don't mean disrespect to anybody", Mickelson told Fox Sports afterwards.

"I didn't feel like going back and forth".

'That's where we clarified that, 'Phil, you actually made a stroke at a moving ball, and so we have to apply that rule (14-5).

Despite Mickelson's explanation, Johnston's first impression was that frustration got the better of him.

Mickelson came into the day tied at 37th overall, needing a low score to climb back up the leaderboard.

Was it a mad spur-of-the-moment mistake, or was it a pre-calculated move to save a shot or two like he said?

Asked while he walked if he had any regrets about the incident on Saturday, he replied: 'I think the real question is what am I going to do next.

"I think it's just one of them moments when you're not thinking about it, it just happens and he did it", said the burly Englishman, whose nickname is "Beef".

The USGA opted not to disqualify Mickelson for Sunday, although there would have been grounds to do so.

"Sometimes it gets a little goofy, sure", he said, "but it's all within the rules".

Australian major victor Elkington joined a chorus of former players and fans calling for five-time major victor Mickelson to be disqualified from the Shinnecock Hills event in NY after his freakish meltdown.

I watched the replay 10 times and my jaw dropped every time.

Mickelson, who has been a U.S. Open runner-up six times, most recently in 2013, was having a miserable time Saturday before reaching 13.

His breach of rule 14-5 incurred a two-shot penalty, yet can anyone seriously disagree that disqualification can be the only punishment for what Mickelson did? What is he doing?' But I " m not a rules person, so if the rules say two-strokes, then that's what he should have gotten".

Walking off the course after a day of carrying scoreboards for another twosome, Henry Lilly and Connor Smith said they were astounded at Mickelson's actions. But his actions set the golf world ablaze all the same, putting the sanctity-of-the-game types at odds with the it's-all-just-a-game folks.

Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes. I just finally did.

"Honestly, I said to him, 'I can't help but laugh, '" he said.

"It has been on the golf course, players complaining, Phil - you never really want that because it is such a hard thing to win a major".

Like this: